Her Ink

Words

If you couldn’t tell from the title of this blog, I’ve thought a lot about words. I think that words are powerful. I think that the words that we use to define ourselves are important. If you think that you are beautiful, then the way you treat yourself and the way you treat others is going to change.

Brains are weird things, they seem to create the reality around us differently based on how we define things. If I start thinking that the world is unfair, then my brain will start picking out different things to back me up. Then suddenly EVERYTHING seems terrible and unfair. That’s not to say that things aren’t unfair sometimes. Or that things aren’t occasionally terrible, because they surely are. For me, for you, for everyone.

Once we start to define things that way though, then things only seem to get worse.

So, since this blog is about words, I decided to showcase some of the words that I define myself by. They change all the time, but these are the ones that I felt like described me when I started this blog.

fullsizeoutput_8d3

Some of the words are things I am, some of them are things that I love, and a few are things that I’m not sure I am yet, but they’re things I aspire to be.

  1. Photos
  2. Chef
  3. Watercolor
  4. Princess
  5. Bold
  6. Ink
  7. Roses
  8. Brave
  9. Flowers
  10. Ocean
  11. Adventure
  12. Teacher
  13. Flawed
  14. Kind
  15. Blue
  16. Best Friend
  17. Reader
  18. Create
  19. Beauty
  20. Handletter
  21. Daughter
  22. LDS
  23. Artist
  24. Wife
  25. Sister
  26. Runner
  27. Blogger
  28. Writer
  29. Dreamer
  30. Pink
  31. Smart
  32. Hiker

 

 

fullsizeoutput_8e2

Clearly I am flawed. But that shouldn’t and doesn’t stop me from trying to be better.

Optimist isn’t on there, but it’s something that I try to be. I think it’s important to remember, that while things can get worse (and often do), they can get better too. It reminds me of when I’m sick and I’m wishing to die, it always seems that things can’t get better, so I wish they would just get worse and get it over with already. But, things can get better, in fact, so far they’ve always gotten better eventually.

You just have to remember, that things get better eventually. Remember that just because you define yourself a certain way now, maybe in a way that you don’t particularly like about yourself, it doesn’t have to stay that way. You have more control over who you are than you think, even though you don’t have control over the circumstances in your life.

 

fullsizeoutput_8e3

Today I am a wife, but two years ago I was single.

Today I am a hand letterer, but two years ago I hadn’t sold anything and I was just starting out. I’m still learning.

Today I am a blogger, but four years ago I’d just started and I had no idea what I was doing. I’m still learning here too.

Today I am a computer lab assistant (in a room full of macs), but when I started I’d never used macs and knew nothing about computers.

We grow, we learn, we move forward.

Today I am a wife, but someday I hope to be a mother.

Today I am a writer, but someday I hope to be an author.

Today I am messy, but someday I hope to be more organized.

Today I am someone who has never left the country, but someday I hope to be a traveler.

Own who you are, but believe that you can be whatever you want to be. You can 🙂

 

fullsizeoutput_8d9

Thank you so much for reading. I really appreciate all of your support!

Photography by: GingerSnaps

What words do you define yourself by? What words do you want to define you?

 

Leave a Reply

