Faith · Reading

The Most Influential Book

 The Most Influential Book-2
There are a lot of books that I would count as influential in my life. These books are the ones that I have read over and over again and think about all the time. Books that have changed my life and the way that I live it, but this book, is by far the most influential book that I have ever read.
Yes, in my religion, this book is important, but that’s not why I read it. I read it because it makes me a better person. I know that it helps me to grow closer not just to my God, or my family, but the kind of person that I have always wanted to be.
I’m flawed, but this book helps me change that.
I read this book for the first time when I was 15. The Prophet of our church issued a challenge for each of us to read the whole Book of Mormon by the end of the year in August 2005.
My First Book of Mormon
I had never read it all the way through before, at least not on my own. I read the book because I was competitive. I wanted to be the first one to finish it out of the  youth in my ward (local group, like a Parish), and I did. It started me on a path to reading this book over and over again. I honestly can’t say how many times I’ve read it now, or the number of copies that I own, but I can tell you that I read it all the way through at least once a year.
I don’t always love reading it. There are days where it’s a struggle for me to sit down and take the time to really study it, but even with all of that, I still find new things. I still learn more each time I read. It’s like no other book that I have read.
This book was published for the first time on March 26, 1830. Since then it has travelled all around the world in the hands of immigrants and missionaries. It’s validity has been questioned more times than anyone could count. I have had to fight for my own faith in it when my family was divided.
It would be a mistake to try and edit this part of my life out, or to try and argue that other books are better or more important to me. What I have learned in this book has shaped my whole life and the way that I see the world. It influences everything from what I say, to what I read, to what I write. I would be a different person without this book. It has taught me that love and family are more important than anything else in this world. It has taught me that choosing love is the basic fabric of the gospel and it should be the basic fabric of my life.
It helps me to be a better wife, a better daughter, a better human being. I’m so grateful for this book and for the life it has helped me to create. It gives me hope when things seem to be falling apart in my personal life, as well as the world at large. It helps me not to feel alone, which is something I think we all struggle with.
Of all the hundreds of books I’ve read in my life, and all the friends I have found in their pages, this book has been my best friend, and I intend to continue reading it until the day I die.
What book has most influenced your life?
4 thoughts on “The Most Influential Book

  1. The most influential book I have ever read was Island of the Blue Dolphins. I struggled with comprehension in elementary school and I tried this book and fell deeply into the story. It really spoke to me and I never forgot that I learned to love reading with this book. It still is my favorite book! Great classic and great read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

